A Concise History of Organ Development


Organ music today is an essential part of every church service world wide and has become almost synonymous for sacred music. Become? Hasn't it been like this forever?
No. Looking at organ history you will notice that the church has become the home of the organ rather unintentionally:

  • The organ was not invented by a musician but by an engineer named Ktesbios in Alexandria / Egypt in the 3rd century B.C. He built several rows of pipes that could produce different timbres. The air pressure needed for this was produced by reprocicating pumps driven by foot.

  • The organ saw its first heyday in the 1st century B.C. when there were even held public organ playing competitions.

  • It was the Roman emperor and persecutor of the Christians, Nero, who, in 67 A.D. introduced the organ to Rome, an instrument he knew from his Greek teachers. Soon it became a status symbol of Roman upper class.

  • Emperor Constantine later brought the organ to the Byzantine Empire. While the Western Roman Empire was lost and with it the organ in Europe as well it still remained a status symbol at the imperial palace in the Byzantine Empire (they even had organs with golden pipes ornamented with precious stones) until its fall in 1453. So the organ was the essential instrument in emperor worship for about a thousand years.

  • In the Western World it only reappeared in 757 A.D. when King Pippin the Smaller was presented an organ by Byzantine Emperor Constantine V. A century later the first European organ was built in Aachen.

  • The church fathers and popes disapproved of musical instruments during church service. This applied especially to the organ being the utmost symbol of worldliness by "imitating the sensually exciting sound of the Aulos" (an ancient double-reed woodwind instrument).

  • Still, after the turn of the millennium organs turned up in monasteries, and, from the 13th century more and more in church buildings as well. So, far away from Rome, the organ, due to the special opportunities it offered for teaching music, slowly but surely found its way into the churches.

  • As a matter of fact in the 14th century most of the main town churches had an organ. After the council of Milan had agreed to accept the organ as "the only musical instrument that may be used in church services" in 1287 the chapter general of Ferrara in 1290 decided to "ban the playing of the organ during services".
Drawing by Gerard Hoffnung, "The Organ Player"
  • Between the 14th and the 16th century many improvements were introduced in organ construction, amongst others the pedal. After this time of glory the Reformation brought a new crisis. While Martin Luther supported the use of the organ John Calvin and Ulrich Zwingli firmly rejected it. Many organs were destroyed or had to be closed down during church service.

  • In the last few centuries the organ advanced to be the main accompanying instrument for church services, mainly through the influence of great composers such as Johann Sebastian Bach. Interestingly organs have never been employed in the Eastern churches.
So the organ is not necessarily the Christian musical instrument even if it has grown to be so in our cultural environment in the last centuries.

Kurze Entwicklungsgeschichte der Orgel


Die Orgel hat sich in der weltweiten Kirche in jedem Gottesdienst einen festen Platz erobert und ist so zum Inbegriff für Sakralmusik geworden. – Warum erobert?
War das nicht schon immer so? Interessanterweise nicht. Eine kurze Chronologie zeigt, dass die Kirche eher unfreiwillig zur Orgel kam:

  • Die Orgel wurde nicht etwa von einem Musiker, sondern von einem Techniker namens Ktesibios im
    3. Jahrhundert v. Chr.
    in Alexandrien (Ägypten) erfunden. Er baute bereits mehrere Pfeifenreihen, die unterschiedliche Klangfarben erzeugen konnten. Der notwendige Luftdruck wurde durch fußbetriebene Kolbenpumpen erzeugt.

  • Ihre erste Blütezeit erlebte die Orgel im 1. Jh. v. Chr. in Griechenland, wo bereits öffentliche Orgelwettbewerbe mit Siegerehrungen stattfanden.

  • Ausgerechnet der römische Kaiser und Christenverfolger Nero führte 67 n. Chr. die Orgel, die er von seinen griechischen Lehrern kannte, in Rom ein. Sie wurde bald zum Statusobjekt der Oberschicht.

  • Mit Kaiser Konstantin gelangte die Orgel auch ins oströmische Reich (Byzanz). Während das römische Westreich unterging und mit ihm die Orgel in Europa, hielt sich die Orgel bis zur Eroberung des Ostreichs 1453 als Statusobjekt am kaiserlichen Hof (es gab dort sogar Orgeln mit goldenen Pfeifen, die mit Edelsteinen besetzt waren). Die Orgel war also 1000 Jahre lang das obligate Instrument der Kaiserverehrung.

  • Im Abendland tauchte die Orgel erst im Jahre 757 n. Chr. wieder auf, als König Pippin der Kleine vom byzantinischen Kaiser Konstantin V. eine Orgel geschenkt bekam. 100 Jahre später wurde die erste europäische Orgel in Aachen gebaut.

  • Die Kirchenväter und Päpste lehnten Instrumente im Gottesdienst generell ab. Dies galt speziell für die Orgel, die ja der Inbegriff der Weltlichkeit war und "den sinnlich aufreizenden Aulos-Klang (altes Blasinstrument mit Doppelrohrblatt) nachahmte".

  • Nach der Jahrtausendwende tauchten dennoch die ersten Orgeln in Klöstern auf, ab dem 13. Jh. vermehrt auch in Kirchen. Weit weg von Rom schlich sich die Orgel durch ihre besondere Eignung für den Musikunterricht langsam aber sicher in die Kirchen ein.

  • De facto besaßen im 14. Jahrhundert die meisten großen Stadtkirchen eine Orgel. Nachdem das Konzil vom Mailand 1287 die Orgel "als einziges Gottesdienstinstrument zugelassen" hatte, beschloss 1290 das Generalkapitel zu Ferrara, "das Orgelspiel während des Gottesdienstes zu verbieten".
Zeichnung von Gerard Hoffnung: "Der Organist"
  • Das 14. bis 16. Jahrhundert brachte im Orgelbau viele Neuerungen, u. a. das Pedal. Mitten in diese Blütezeit der Orgel kam durch die Reformation eine neue Krise: Während Martin Luther sich für die Verwendung der Orgel aussprach, wurde sie von Calvin und Zwingli rigoros abgelehnt. Viele Orgeln wurden abgerissen oder mussten während des Gottesdienstes geschlossen bleiben.

  • Insgesamt wurde die Orgel nicht zuletzt durch große Komponisten wie Bach in den letzten Jahrhunderten zum Hauptbegleitinstrument für den Gottesdienst. In den christlichen Ostkirchen wurden übrigens noch nie Orgeln im Gottesdienst eingesetzt.
Somit ist die Orgel also nicht ganz selbstverständlich das christliche Musikinstrument, auch wenn sie in unserem Kulturkreis in den letzten Jahrhunderten dazu geworden ist.